Sunday, September 2, 2012

Those "Querky" Things About Me.....

1.  Yes, I am well aware that in my blog title "Quana's Querky Adventures" that I misspelled quirky.  After countless facebook messages, texts and emails from people pointing out this error, I thought that I should share why I spelled it the way I did.  I spelled quirky wrong as a joke, a joke that NO ONE got... go figure.  In every one of my blogs I can point out areas that have spelling errors and horrible grammar.  I don't let it get me down too much because I am not a writer and never claimed to be.  So I thought it would be funny to just throw an error right in my blog title.  I know, not funny... but hey, now you know.  :)

2.  I am a horrible joke teller.  I don't know what it is.  I hear a joke, I think it is funny, I listen hard and pay attention so that I can tell it to others, I practice privately and it goes fairly smoothly, and then I go to tell it in public and everything goes haywire.  I am like the dad on "Finding Nemo."

3.  I hate feet.  I cant have other peoples feet touch me.  I barely like my own.

4.  I am not a huge fan of public bathrooms.  No surprise there, I cant name a single person who gets excited to use a public restroom.  But there is one thing about a public bathroom that gets me down more than anything.  Its when you go to sit down and the toilet seat is warm.  Yuck!!  It means whoever was there before me sat there for a quite a while, and it just creeps me out.  Warm toilet seats, no bueno.

5.  I am insanely jealous of Ina Garten.  She taught herself with no formal training, she makes everything she does look so easy, and she is always hosting amazing parties for these amazing people!  Hosting parties in the Hampton's and being filmed and paid for it is just amazing to me.

6.  I can't eat jawbreakers.  I truly believe I will either break a tooth or choke to death.

7.  I was 25 years old before I realized that Dumbo's mom didn't die in the movie.  I hadn't watched it since I was little because it would make me go into this hysterical cry .  Just picture the scene where she is swinging Dumbo on her trunk and "Baby Mine" is playing, I am tearing up right now thinking about it.  I just knew this was a movie that I couldn't watch because it made me so sad!  It wasn't until I was 25 when a good friend called me all sorts of excited and yelled into the phone "Dumbo's mom doesn't die! Dumbo's mom doesn't die!"  I was like... yes huh!  He said that he was watching it with his kids and Dumbo's mom comes back in the end.  So I watched the movie that night and she does!!!  I am a sucker for a happy ending.

8.  I never look at the clock in the morning, I know what time it is by what is on KBRX, our local radio station here in O'Neill.  I know that if I am not out of the shower by the 7 am ABC News Report that I need to kick it in the rear.  I know I need to have my make up done by the end of the Huckabee Report, and if I am not out of the door by the time the birthday club starts, I am not going to be able to stop and get coffee before work.  I know what day it is by which guest they have on the radio that morning.  And if I need a pick me up I can always Facebook Scott and see if he has any time to play me a little Kenny Chesney. 

9.  I cry at Folger's commercials.

10.  When it comes to technology, I am just not the brightest crayon in the box.  I don't know what it is, but it is like I am not part of my generation.  I usually ponder something for at least a few days before I remember that I can just Google it.  I don't see this improving at any point in my life either.


Feel free to share some quirky things about yourself! :)

Sunday, August 19, 2012

The Big C

July 7th

My mom found a lump around her pelvis.  They thought this was a swollen lymph node so she was treated with antibiotics for a 2 weeks and it got smaller but was still there. 

August 7th

She had surgery with Dr. Akainda to remove the lymph node.

August 13th

My mom went to meet with Dr. Akainda to have the stitches removed and find out the results of the biopsy.  The biopsy came back positive for Metastatic Squamous Cell Carcinoma.  Dr. Akainda knew that this had spread from somewhere.  He checked her rectum and there he found a mass that he immediately biopsied.

It was an hard morning.  I knew there was a chance that it could be cancer but I was hoping for other news.  Her appointment was at 10:30 and when I hadn't heard from her yet at 11:15 I was starting to get nervous.  Pretty soon my phone rang and it was Jan asking me to come down to exam room 1 because my mother wanted to see me.  I dropped everything at work and went flying out of the door.

I knew when I walked in that room I was about to get the most horrible news I could ever hear.  My mother was crying and Jan was crying.  I honestly felt like I had been delivered a punch from Mike Tyson right in my gut.  I just held her hand and cried.  I don't remember too much else.  I am just so mad that neither Quinn, Dad or I were bossy and just said we were going to go to that appointment with her whether she wanted us there or not.  I hate that she got that news alone.

August 16th

Mom and Dad went to Omaha to meet with Dr. Jon Thompson at UNMC.  They did scans and blood work.  Our biggest fear was that since we knew that it had spread into the lymph node system and that it is squamous cell carcinoma was that it had already spread to her esophagus and lungs.  Mom really likes Dr. Thompson, she said that he is soft spoken and kind.  When he met with her that morning he said, "So you mean to tell me that you were living a perfectly normal, happy and healthy life... and then they sent you here to see me."  That made her laugh a little.

August 17th.

Finally we got some good news!  The scans showed that it has spread into the lymph nodes around her pelvis, but that is hadn't spread to her lungs or esophagus..  Also the biopsy came back that the mass in her rectum is squamous cell carcinoma which is great news.  And the best news is that Dr. Thompson is giving her a 50% chance of survival!!  As my mom says, "My glass is half full." :)  Dr. Thompson will be presenting her case to the tumor board on Thursday and from there they will decide on a course of treatment.  We know this will involve chemo, radiation and possible surgery.


Anyone that knows me knows that my mom is absolutely my best friend.  I talk to her several times a day about anything and everything.  She is my rock, makes me laugh and helps me to keep moving the right direction.  I just don't think that mom's should be allowed to get cancer.  The woman that I have leaned on and depended on for comfort now needs to lean on me, and I will do anything I can for her.

It makes me smile how differently everyone reacts to things.  Dad, he is the deep thinker.  He has such a way of putting things that just make total sense.  My favorite example is how he feels about waiting to figure out what mom's treatment will be.  "I feel like my house is on fire and I have called 911....... the operator that answered said they would love to help but the fire truck is getting worked on in Neligh and they will get here when they can.  Until then I have to watch my house burn."  And me, well of course I am the cryer.  I am also trying to keep things light and even make a few jokes here and there.  At this point mom isn't sick from treatments and still has all of her hair so I figure we better not take things too serious for now as things are going to get very serious, very quickly.  So why not laugh a little. 

Cancer Joke:  What do you call a doctor that is always on the phone?  And On-CALLogist.  :)

My mom is so strong.  I know that she is going to win this battle.  It won't be easy or painless, but she is going to win.

Please send prayers, love and positive thoughts our way.

Friday, July 27, 2012

eHarmony Reject


** For the record this is the most embarrassing/funny thing that has ever happened to me.  Consider yourselves lucky.

I believe in a previous blog post I mentioned an eHarmony incident that I promised to one day tell you about.  You can check that out here.

My time frame is a little off as I have the memory of a goldfish but just bear with me, it doesn’t really matter when it happened the embarrassment lasts a lifetime.

It was the summer of 2006 I believe.  My relationship with my on again off again high school sweetheart was finally coming to a long and bitter end.  We were starting to acknowledge that we made each other crazy and miserable and it was time to walk away.  There was a lot of damage done that we were never going to recover from.  When I finally realized there was no fixing things, it was both a sense of relief and incredible loneliness.  Wow… I am getting way to serious over here. Eek!  Let’s jump past this mushy, gushy crap and get to the good stuff.

I was working for the University as a Conference Assistant at the time that all of this was happening and I had been stuck on all night shifts for quite a while, like 2 months.  The good thing about working the night shifts was that you got to be on your computer and could watch movies and TV which helped to keep you awake.  You also raked in the hours and the money because, let’s face it, who wants to work the night shift?  The bad part about it was that after so long without any sun, hours of infomercials, and general lack of sleep, you become quite delusional.  It is even worse when you are going through a break up. 

One night I was working the desk in Kauffman Hall where we had a grand total of two guests.  Pending any fires, pranks or break-ins I knew it was going to be a long and uneventful night.  Around 3 am, a commercial came on for eHarmony asking me if I was looking for love.  I may have been really tired but I swear this guy was talking right to me.  And I thought to myself “Yes!  I am looking for love!  And I would love your help finding it Mr. Man!”  He had me hook, line and sinker when he said it was a 3 week free trial.  So I got on my computer and spent an hour and a half filling out a personality profile.  Everything from religion to children to drinking to social activities.  It was actually quite exhausting.  I finally got done and I clicked submit and a little screen popped up that says “Thanks for starting your search for love with us!  We will send you an email in 30 minutes with your first 3 matches.”

Wooooo hoooo!  This was hands down the easiest thing I have ever done to meet guys, and it didn’t even involve me doing my hair or shaving my legs.  I started thinking about all of the wonderful guys that eHarmony was going to set me up!  I was of course assuming they would all be very good looking and very rich with beards.  Pretty soon my computer alerts me that I have mail.  At this point it is almost 5 am and I can hardly stand the excitement!  I open up the email and this is what it said…..

“We regret to inform you that you fit in to the 2% of users that we are unable to match with anyone.  We appreciate you starting your search for love with us.  Good luck."

I will wait for you to stop laughing…….

Are you done yet??.....

Its not that funny……

Ok, here was my reaction to that.

Um…. WHAT?!?!?!  You mean to tell me that not only did my boyfriend break up with me, but eHarmony won’t even give me a chance???  And then I said words like *&^%^& and *&^&%%$%^* and a little @%$%^.  And then I think I called my mom crying saying things like “The *sniffle* internet *sob* doesn’t *sniffle* even *blow my nose* love *wailing* meeeeeeeeeeeeeee.”

I of course didn’t tell anyone about this because I was so embarrassed that I had even tried to sign up for it let alone that I got rejected!  So I kept this one a safely guarded secret.  Until now.  You’re welcome readers... You.Are.Welcome.

I can laugh about it now.  In fact, I think that this is probably one of the most hysterical things that has ever happened to me.  And every time of one my dear friends suggest that I maybe try internet dating I always have to giggle.  No thank you, I will work this one out on my own.  Being single is a lot better than being rejected by email.

I am still left with some lingering questions.  Why couldn’t they just throw that 2% of us in a group to just sort it out ourselves??  What answer did I give that made me so unmatchable??   Did that survey reveal something about me that I need to be concerned about??  Am I a future Lifetime psycho movie??

Eh, who am I kidding.  I was obviously unmatchable because of my awesomeness…. J

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

How Kate Middleton Ruined My Life


How Kate Middleton Ruined My Life




There she is.  The girl who stole my thunder and didn’t even send me a Facebook apology.  Don’t get me wrong, I think that Kate it actually pretty awesome and I guess I am happy for her and Will.  It’s just that I had a pretty meticulous plan marrying a King in my adult life and now all of that is ruined.  Let me explain.



First, let me introduce you to the cast.



   
Prince William

                                                                                                                                Prince Harry
                                                                                                                                       

      
                                                                     My Future Baby



Now, I know that you are looking at the above pictures and thinking “But William is bald, why would you want to marry him??  Harry is obviously the cute one!”  And I completely agree with you, really I do!  I love everything about Harry.  He has red hair, he parties too much, and he is a total bad ass.  3 things I happen to love in a guy!  I have nothing in common with Will.  He is responsible and always says the right thing, we would definitely not get along.  But there is one thing that Will has that Harry doesn’t.  The Thrown.  And considering I am pretty selfish and my morals tend to sway to the lower end of the spectrum, Will is the obvious choice of the two.

Here is how I thought my life would go.

1.       Meet Will

2.       He obviously falls in love with my stunning personality and charm

3.       So does Harry J

4.       I harmlessly flirt my tushy off with Harry, but know if I want to own the thrown I need to marry will

5.       Marry Will

6.       Have a scandalous affair with Harry

7.       Get preggers.  It is Harry’s baby and not Will’s… *gasp*

8.       I live with the secret until Will is involved in a freak polo accident.  It is on his death bed that I confess the truth to him

9.       Will tells me that he knew I should have been with Harry all along, and when he dies he wants me to marry him and be happy.

10.   Will dies.

11.   Me and Harry begin planning our happily ever after.

12.   All of England loves Harry for stepping up to the plate to marry me and be a father to “Will’s” kid.  Yay us!

13.   After becoming Queen years later the scandal is discovered and I am beheaded.  This makes me very famous.

14.   Scarlett Johansson plays me in a movie.



So although I am happy that Kate and Will are together because they actually seem in love, I am just bummed that I have to come up an entirely different life plan.  *Sigh*  Maybe I should write for soap operas or choose something that wouldnt involve a beheading.


Tuesday, July 10, 2012

That Dreaded 'F' Word....

Furby.


There it is.  A Furby.  Sure, it seems harmless enough but boy are you wrong!

Here is some background on these disturbing little creatures.  The Furby first came out in the late 1990s.  I didn't like Furbies then either.  Something was just so...unnatural about the whole thing.  When you get them they only speak 'Furbish', which is a disturbing language in itself.  If you make it through that first day with your Furby without being frightened to death and taking that thing to the landfill to be buried deep in the earth, you will find that it starts to 'learn english' and it starts chatting with you.  Its ears and eyes also move.  Creepy.

Well now they came out with a Furby 2.0 that is even 'better' than the original.  There's new features such as LED eyes that will portray different emotions.  You can now tickle your Furby and he will laugh and giggle with you.  You can also get mad at your Furby and shake him upside down and it will make him dizzy and sad.  Creepy.

So what is my beef with this little monster?  Um.... ever see "Tales From The Crypt??  Let me explain.

When I was young, very young, I remember sneaking downstairs late one night because I wanted to watch this show called "Tales From The Crypt" mainly because my mom told me I couldn't.  So creeping down the stairs I go, turn the channel and this is the first thing I see...


AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am now completely paralyzed with fear.  I want to reach over to the remote and turn off the TV but I just can't because that skeleton thing might be right over the edge of the chair and he will eat my hand off when I go to grab it.

Is anyone else having a panic attack right now or is it just me?

Anyway, I don't remember all of the details of that dreaded episode, but I got the main points burned into my memory forever.  Basically this puppeteer guy was minding his own business when all of a sudden all of his puppets came to life and started to kill him and other people.  Give me a break guys, it was a lot more terrifying that I am making it seem.

After watching that I went off the deep end.  I made sure to tell my stuffed animals every night how pretty they all were and how much I loved them so that they wouldn't stab me with a 12 inch butcher knife as I slept.  I would try my hardest to rotate which stuffed animals got to sleep with me and the ones that I thought were most likely to kill me got to sleep with me every night.  I believe I finally asked my mom to get rid of them, not because I was outgrew them, but I was so tired of trying to stay awake to avoid a certain death, that I just couldn't take it anymore.

Then the Furby came.  Now if you are a kid who is already terrified of stuffed animals who don't  move, blink, or talk in their own weird language, this is the WORST possible thing that could be invented.  I never had one, never even had a desire to because I just knew that taking a bath one night that Furby would come to life and throw the blow dryer in the bathtub and electrocute me.  The friends that I knew that had a Furby, I simply avoided going over to their house as I would rather not see them hacked to pieces with a hatchet.

Hm... I was a weird kid, man.

I am 26 now and I should probably be over that fear of stuffed animals committing heinous murders, but just on the off chance that it might happen I definitely won't be purchasing a Furby 2.0.

Oh, and sorry Mom for sneaking downstairs and watching shows I shouldn't have watched and most likely causing you some sleepless nights.  I was worried my stuffed animals would get you too.  I am sure glad they didn't. :)

Sunday, June 24, 2012

A Bucket List

The bucket list.  The things in life that you hope to accomplish before you, well, kick the bucket.  I love talking to people about their bucket lists.  It is amazing what you can find out about a person by knowing what they want to do with the time that they have left.  Some have a list a million miles long, others only a few.  If you don't have one, I highly recommend jotting a few things down somewhere. 

Don't worry folks, I am not going to sit here and list the 58 things I need to do before I meet my maker because I don't have 58.  I have 3.  3 tiny little things that I feel that I should experience at some point in the hopefully near future.

1.  Go see a movie at a drive in movie theater.  I know I only live 45 minutes from Neligh and that O'Neill used to have one when I was little, but I have never been to a drive in movie and I think it would be wonderful.  I know most of you are thinking 'well then get in the car and go', but here is where my shyness comes into play.  I hate doing things for the first time with no guidance.  Going to a drive in movie without someone who knows the ropes would probably cause a panic attack or at least a little nervous sweating.  Are there certain rules?  Is there a vehicle that is better than another to take?  Do they still use the little speaker boxes that you have to put in your window?  What if it is really hot and I have to sit in a hot car and pass out and die?  Well I guess I could at least cross 'going to a drive in theater' off my bucket list at that point :)  So if you or anyone you know would like to go to the movies, keep me in mind.

2.  Go on a roller coaster.  Again, I know I am weird.  Here's the deal with me never going on a roller coast, or really any carnival rides for that matter.  I was watching Oprah when I was very little with my mom one afternoon and the episode was about carnival rides gone wrong.  Well lets just say that a family of four that was killed because the roller coaster came off the tracks and flew through the air may have scared me a little bit.  I also don't like rides that drop so fast where my butt comes off the seat.  I need to have my bum firmly planted at all times.  At some point I am going to muster up all of my courage and go on a real roller coaster.  Thank goodness I don't live near an amusement park so that I am able to put this off for as long as I possibly can.

3.  Swim with great white sharks.  Nothing about swimming with sharks makes me nervous or scares me.  I would have done it by now but I want to go to South Africa, because rumor has it they have the baddest of the bad when it comes to great whites, and that costs a pretty penny.  I am going to do everything like a true shark bad ass would do.  I am going to go where the big sharks are, throw the chum overboard and wait for them to swarm, get in a cage and dive.  I hope they get mad and bump into the cage and stuff like that. Cant wait!

I would love to hear what all of you have on your buckets lists!

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Oh, Rats!



Last weekend I was keeping official book for the district softball tournament that was being held in O’Neill. We were up in the crow’s nest and I see something scurry across the floor. It was a mouse. A cute adorable brown and white mouse. For the brief few minutes I knew her I called her Scout, after one of my favorite characters in “To Kill a Mockingbird.” Anyway, she crawled into someone’s shoe and I took her outside and set her free in the wild (i.e. the grassy area next to the playground) and watched her scurry away. I couldn’t believe the number of people that asked me if I had killed her! Of course I didn’t kill Scout, she was adorable and I believe we formed a lifelong friendship…. Oh my God, there is a good chance I am going to become a rat hoarder… I guess watch for me on A&E!

There are several reasons that I couldn’t kill Scout.

  1. I am not a farm Kid. Farms kids are, well, kids that grew up on a farm. They know that life comes and goes and have the ability to off cute little creatures such as Scout without thinking twice about it.
  2. I learned nothing from “The Lion King” except for some awesome songs. I know that movie was meant to teach kids about the circle of life, but that lesson just didn’t sink in with me. I did learn however not to get trapped in a herd to wild animals with hooves, that wart hogs fart, and that hyenas think they are way more funny than they actually are.
  3. I blame society for introducing some awesome rodents into my childhood which now prevents me from ever killing one. For Example…


Splinter from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. What if Scout was on a mission to inform life sized turtles of the danger lurking in the sewers of O’Neill?? I was not going to be responsible for destroying that mission. You’re welcome O’Neill.


The Rescuers. Those beloved little mice who embark on a whirlwind adventure! How could you ever kill one of those little guys? Plus they have a leaf boat and a dragonfly escort. I can picture Scout cruising down 5th Street after a hard rain with her beloved in their leaf boat of love... yup I just couldnt ruin that for her.



Ground Hog day. As a child my hopes of an early spring all rested in the hands of a rodent! What up Phil! Scout and Phil dated I believe. He is sad they broke up, that is why he let himself go the way he did. Perk up Phil! You should come to Boot Camp with me!


And who could ever forget Gus Gus from Cinderella! Awwww Gus Gus… one of my favorite fictional characters of all time. Love his big heart. I bet Scout has a big heart too…



And Alf. I don’t know if he is really considered a rodent or not, but he kind of looks like one. He also kind of looks like something else...*ah hem*... and I believe he enjoyed eating cats, but we won’t go into that at this time. I don’t remember much of this show but I do remember that my family watched it when I was growing up.  I bet Scout has a family. I wonder what TV shows they watch?

So next time I find a mouse don’t count on this girl to be responsible for its death, I simply wasn’t raised that way

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Pshhh, You Wish You Could Be Us...

It is no secret that my dear friend Jessica Schwager is one of the closest people to me on this planet.  That is no surprise considering we email each other almost every day.  I just love that girl because I can literally tell her ANYTHING and I know that she has my back 100%.

Well as serious as some of our emails are, we also share a lot of laughs.  I honestly wish that we could just make out emails public because they are so hysterical and they really show how completely awesome we are, but we cant for the following reasons.

1.  We talk too much shit and too much sex.
2.  Mama Wendy and Mama Schwag would not approve.
3.  Multiple people would defriend us on Facebook.
4.  We would forever be single.

But I just couldnt resist sharing some of my favorite PG quotes with all of you.  I have decided not to tell you all if it was me or Jessica that said it, that way if there is something on here that would disappoint our mothers, then we can just blame it on each other.

They say that laughter is the best medicine, and because of this girl I have probably added 10 years to my lifespan.

Enjoy!


I don't know why I hate the world...maybe it's because I'm pale.

Let's just Thelma and Louise it and drive off a cliff.

There is a 98% chance I will get drunk and punch her in the throat.

BLUE BANANA WHAT IS HAPPENING!

I have no idea how to act. I'm so much cooler via text message

Yay day drinking!!!!!

I am going back to denial now.

That's my goal in life: be funnier and more successful on Facebook than in real life.

Just say "I meant to text you a while ago but I have been jetting around the country drinking thousand dollar champagne and partying with Usher"... or whatever you have been doing

Not that I dont want him to be successful but my life seemed so much cooler when he was struggling.  Blah.

Did you know that he is a KARAOKE KING???  No shizzle

I literally give myself a pat on the back for breaking up with him

He looks like a muppet and that also makes me uncomfortable

The reason you were drinking on a Tuesday night is why we are friends

So Drunky Pants over here (me) decided that I would text him, wft is wrong with me?

Which who am I kidding.  I honestly got lazy on the "shaving the legs" thing again, so that has
been about two... ok fine, three weeks ago... and I am whiter than Casper the friendly ghost.  And I wonder why I am single...


....have you really not shaved your legs for three weeks....I'M GAGGING RIGHT NOW. The pale thing is fine. Being pale is hawt. (because it means no skin cancer). But the legs? girlllll.

We are way too cool not to invite places. Let's start having our own parties.

I just read your blog.  I concurr that you do, indeed, have a brain tumor.  There was not a hint of sarcasm anywhere to be found in that email.  You, my friend, probably only have days to live.  OH... MY... GOD... this will be just like the movie Beaches!!  You will be all sad and pale and dying and I will come and live and take care of you in your fabulous beach house and then raise you kid after
you die and I will sing at your funeral!


Your inability to say no happens to be one of the 867 things I like
most about you.  In fact, if you had the ability to say no, you would
have told that crazy drunk girl (me) all those years ago that you
would NOT be going pee with her.  Thank goodness you didnt!!
Otherwise, we would probably not be friends today. :)


Beard - check. Hilariousness - check. I think he has a cat - check

Are you coming to NE anytime soon?  Or do I have to drive my honky ass through a toll booth and
come and visit you?


Holy shit, this is a lifetime murder/stalker movie in the making, I
just know it.  You will be the friend that knew I should have been
institutionalized and didnt do it...


That girl should just stick to wearing minimal clothing,
humping big plastic white dogs and singing.  I mean, come on girl,
lets play on your strengths.


I think I should buy a tapeworm online and then I can eat whatever I
want.  I am going to go and google what the chances of that killing me
are.

Saturday, April 21, 2012

SWF

This morning as I rolled out of bed the sun was shining the birds were chirping and I was ready to conquer the day!  I go to the kitchen and pour myself a bowl of cheerios and sit down to take my first bite and my mom slams a magazine down on the table and says, "this guy looks nice."

I needed a little more than 10 minutes of consciousness before tackling this conversation but I was still delirious from sleep and mistakenly said "huh?"  Then she said the last thing I was expecting to hear on a Saturday morning, "Its a personal ad!"

Holy shit.

I pick up the magazine and, honestly, the guy sounds decent enough.  He likes camping, motorcycles, said he was raised with a good work ethic, all that great stuff.  He is also tall, 35 and "looking for a nice gal."  Well I can see where my mother thought this could be my soul mate with me being a nice gal and all. 

My next fear was that my mom went out and purchased a magazine full of personal ads and was going to try to get me to write to one of them.  I mean, I know that lady needs some grand kids, but its not like she is the only one that can hear my clock ticking.  So trembling with fear I flip to the front cover and you will never guess what magazine it is... Rural Electric Nebraskan.

Holy shit.

Not only is there a magazine that provides you with up to date information on all of your electricity needs, but the last page is totally dedicated to person ads!  I am entirely fascinated by this!  There are guys and gals, young and old, tall and short, smoker and non-smokers.  This is a wide variety of people looking for companionship!

Now, please don't get me wrong.  I am in no way making fun of anyone that would put out a personal ad or that does any type of Internet dating.  I think that if you find someone that you love, it really doesn't matter how you meet.  Honestly good for these people for putting themselves out there! 

Now I am sure you are wondering if I am actually going to write to this guy.  Well, I am still recovering from an eHarmony incident that I might be brave enough, or drunk enough, to tell you about someday.  But today is not that day.  Tomorrow ain't looking good either.  Sorry folks.

So am I going to answer this personal ad?  Wouldn't you like to know :)



Sunday, March 25, 2012

Things I did today

In no particular order.

1.  Went and watched Drew play in his basketball tournament.  I love seeing the future of the West Boyd Spartans and I must say that future is looking good.  They of course got first place :)

2.  I ate Subway with my mom.  I love getting to have lunch with my mom, and I also love Subway.  Combine the two and I am in heaven.

3.  I went on a bike ride with Paige.  Not a vroom vroom bike, but a pedal bike.  If I had a vroom vroom bike I would definitely not be back yet and blogging.  We rode around town, hung out and got some fresh air.  It felt so great to be out and enjoying the beautiful weather.

4.  I broke a nail.  Damn.

5.  I watched the UNC vs. Kansas game.  I am totally pumped that Kansas won and I am predicting that they will win the entire tournament.

6.  My wonderful friend Jessica Schwager texted me and told me to "Watch The Wild and Wonderful Whites of West Virginia.  Now."  Well, she sent me that text last night but I finally got around to it today and I must say I had to watch it a few times.  The first time I was stunned into silence, the second time it made me want to crawl into the fetal position and cry.  And the third time I was pretty sure I saw an ex-boyfriend.... just kidding! :)  Kinda....

7.  I have panicked 7 times at the thought that I am going to go to my first day at Barbie's Boot Camp tomorrow.  Eeek!  I will let you all know how that goes.  But if you don't hear from me in the next week, she killed me.  No one let Moose go and live with my sister, she is on the verge of being a cat hoarder.

9.  My dad got a boat.  Well I guess it could be called a boat along with a few other names I am sure.  It is shifty and definitely not sea worthy, but I suppose when the land in Inman floods it will be fun to have around and also get us around the bayou.  I took a little spin in that bad boy today.  Well, not so much a spin as there is no motor, but I did sit in it, had dad tie a rope to me and push me out while he held on so I didnt float away.  I was sure drowning was in my future.  Aside from the leaks and being sure that the Anti-Christ is living in the bottom of that black murky water it was fun.  I think I might try to do some fishing in that vessel this summer.  I just need an oar and a can of liquid rubber.

8.  I am now settling in for the night to watch 60 Minutes and the Amazing Race.  Sunday nights are the only night of the week I get to act like a 90 yeard old woman and go to bed by 8:30.

Good Night Ya'll!

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

The Red Velvet Cake War

Every year, the O'Neill Friends of the Library hold a fundraiser.  They get a group of volunteers to put on a play and they do a dinner theater and a matinee.  And this year, yours truly is participating.

One night I got a call from Mary Miller who said that she heard I was a thespian.  Ha!  Drama Queen, yes.  Thespian, not so much.  But she thought I would be perfect for the part and she had me sold on it when she said that I got to fight her on stage.

It was a little scary saying yes, as I haven't acted since high school, and even then I don't think that I knew what I was doing by any means, I just got up there and said some lines.  But this time it is different.  I am totally feeling this part and I cant wait to portray her on stage.

I will be playing the part of Bitsy, a southern firecracker who is after a man whose wife has only been dead a week.  I am blingy, loud, man hungry.... ok, I am basically playing me but with a little southern drawl. :)

Our play is called "The Red Velvet Cake War"  It is the story of three cousins and the shenanigans that they get themselves into while trying to host a family reunion.  This is a laugh out loud hysterical play!!  It is so hard to keep a straight face in practice.  Needless to say, you should probably use the restroom before sitting down to watch our play.

I think what also makes it so great is that I am working with the best cast and crew that a girl could ask for.  They are supportive, funny, organized, and I feel like we are turning into a small family.  I seriously couldn't be working with a greater group of people.

So mark off April 28th on your calendars and stop by and support the library and us hard working volunteers.  I promise it will be well worth your time.

Oh, and I am still needing a fan club president if anyone would like to volunteer :)

Friday, March 2, 2012

1999

The other day Quinn and I were talking about a girl that she went to high school with.  I of course couldn't place this person so I went to my dependable resort when faced with these circumstances, my high school year books.

I went straight for the 1999 year book.  I was in 7th grade and it was my first year book. 

Right away I went to the class pictures so that I could figure out who this girl was that I couldn't quite place.  The next thing I know I am blasted into the past where bangs ruled the universe and Adidas shirts were cool.

There is a certain someone who has a big pink heart around their picture.  I immediately remember that feeling of my first big junior high crush. All I can say is thank god for unanswered prayers :)

As I am getting lost in memories and wondering where some people are and what they are doing with their lives, I suddenly remember that people signed my yearbook!  Oh this is where things get interesting.  Here are a few of my favorites. (I am choosing to exclude last names to save people from the embarrassment of things they may have written in junior high)

"Quana, you're a little weird, but a swell friend.  P.S. What is your home planet?  Haha.  Just joking" - Matthew.  I firmly believe that this guy will run for president some day.  And yes, I will be voting for him... even though he called me weird.

"Quana.  Damn you're hot" - Trenton.  God love that man.

"Quana, you're an awesome friend!  Never change. (Fight for Froggy Rights!) - Amy.  I wish I could remember the inside joke to this, dang it.

"Stooper Head" - Dani.  She was my best friend and I miss her.

And of course there is the typical "I signed your crack" and "04 Rulz".  I wish I could share then all because they are all funny and sentimental to me.  My favorites are the ones from my great girlfriends that I had, and of course anyone that said I was pretty :) 

Oh and my high school boyfriend deserves a Pulitzer for what he wrote in my year books.  I am pretty sure if we had gotten married we could have just taken the wedding vows straight from our yearbooks... oh wait... I think I told him what to write :)

I highly recommend preparing your self mentally if you choose to open up your yearbooks and take a trip down memory lane.  With the good always comes the bad.  The fights, the break ups, realizing who you lost touch with, and of course seeing the faces of those that are not with us anymore.

Oh I just found one more that I love.

"Quana, you have been a great friend for this long trip that we have taken together.  I can always talk to you and you're able to make my day complete.  We've had so many good memories even though we always tend to argue with each other.  Whenever we are in Kamerzell's courtroom I will always kick your butt.  Have fun this year and stay out of trouble and do all of the activities that I do. PS never change who you are for someone else and never forget me." - Jay.  He was always one that was wise beyond his  years, that is pretty darn good for a 15 year old.

To the class of 2004, I hope that you have all accomplished what you wanted to.  I hope you are all happy and healthy.  And I hope I didn't make you paranoid wondering what you may have wrote in someone's yearbook when you were 15 :)

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Where in the Heck Have I Been?

Someone recently asked me "where in the heck have you been?"  Well... uh... right here.  To which they commented that they wanted to know why I haven't been blogging.  I think this means I have a fan.  Don't worry I wont get a big head.  Well, honestly I have been just a little busy, so the blogging has taken a back seat for a while.

I know this may come as a surprise to some of you, but I have been known to have a flare for the dramatics... no?  No surprise?  Oh... Well then it wouldn't be a surprise to you either that I will be playing the part of Bitsy in "The Red Velvet Cake War" for the O'Neill Friends of the Library play that is done as a fundraiser each year.  This is going to be a good one!  It is smart and funny and I am so excited to be a part of it. Bitsy is a snooty little firecracker who is after a man and is determined to get him.   I am working with such a talented and funny group of people and I cant wait for our performances!

Not to long ago I was asked to serve as a Teammates board member.  So we have been meeting once a month.  Right now we are working on raising funds so that we are able to provide matches in O'Neill and our surrounding communities.  Teammates is such a great program and there are definitely kids in this area that need it.  If anyone is interested in being a Teammate please let me know and I can get you some information.

I have also been working on passing LB840 in O'Neill.  This is something that I would like to do a separate blog post on so I wont go into a lot of detail right now.   

More information will be coming in detail on all of these different activities, but for now I just wanted to catch everyone up on where I have been. 

I am busy, busy, busy but I wouldn't have it any other way.

Well this is my one night at home this week so I am going to go and enjoy it. :)